The Premier receives \$20,000 and each Cabinet Minister \$15,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity and allowance. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$15,000 plus an office allowance of \$24,000 per annum, the Speaker \$5,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$3,000.

Each member of the Legislature is paid a sessional indemnity of \$6,000, an expense allowance of \$4,000 and a sessional allowance of \$2,500. Each of the members for the three northernmost constituencies of Prince Albert East, Athabasca and Meadow Lake receives a \$6,500 sessional indemnity and a \$3,750 expense allowance. Government and Opposition Whips are paid an annual allowance of \$1,000 each and legislative secretaries an annual allowance of \$3,000 each.

The eleventh Ministry of Saskatchewan as at December 31, 1972

Premier, President of the Council, Hon. A.E. Blakeney

Blakeney

Attorney General, Hon. Roy J. Romanow Minister of Agriculture, Hon. John R. Messer Minister of Public Health, Hon. Walter E. Smishek Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Everett I. Wood

Minister of Labour, Hon. Gordon T. Snyder Minister of Northern Saskatchewan and Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. G.R. Bowerman Minister of Environment and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development,

Hon. Neil E. Byers

Minister of Education, Hon. Gordon MacMurchy Minister of Highways and Transportation, Hon. Eiling Kramer

Minister of Government Services and Minister of Telephones, Hon. John E. Brockelbank Minister of Industry and Commerce and Minister

of Mineral Resources, Hon. Kim Thorson Minister of Social Services, Hon. Alex Taylor Minister of Finance, Hon. Elwood Cowley Minister of Culture and Youth, Minister of Consumer Affairs and Provincial Secretary,

Hon. Edwin Tchorzewski.

## 4.3.1.9 Alberta

In addition to the Lieutenant-Governor (since January 1966 the Honourable J.W. Grant MacEwan) the government of Alberta is composed of an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly of 75 members elected for a maximum period of five years. On August 30, 1971, 49 Progressive Conservatives, 24 members of the Social Credit party, one New Democrat and one

Independent were elected to form the seventeenth Legislature.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$9,000, a \$4,500 expense allowance and \$30 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. In addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, the Speaker receives a salary of \$8,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$5,000. The Leader of the Opposition's salary in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance is \$22,000. The Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Leader of the Opposition also receive \$30 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the sessional indemnity and allowance the Premier receives \$27,000, other Ministers \$22,000 and Ministers without portfolio \$16,000.

The tenth Ministry of Alberta as at December 31, 1972

Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon. Peter Lougheed

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Hugh M. Horner Minister of Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. Donald R. Getty

Minister of Education, Hon. Louis D. Hyndman Provincial Treasurer, Hon. Gordon T.W. Miniely Attorney General and Provincial Secretary, Hon. C. Mervin Leitch

Minister of Health and Social Development, Hon. Neil S. Crawford

Minister of Manpower and Labour, Hon. Albert E. Hohol

Minister of Environment, Hon, William J. Yurko Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. David J. Russell

Minister of Advanced Education, Hon. James L. Foster

Minister of Mines and Minerals, Hon. William D. Dickie

Minister of Telephones and Utilities, Hon. Leonard F. Werry

Minister of Public Works, Hon. Winston O. Backus Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. Frederick H. Peacock

Minister of Highways and Transport, Hon. Clarence Copithorne

Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Allan A. Warrack

Minister of Culture, Youth and Recreation, Hon. Horst A. Schmid

Minister without portfolio, Hon, W. Helen Hunley Minister without portfolio, responsible for

Minister without portfolio, responsible for Tourism, Hon. Robert W. Dowling

Minister without portfolio, responsible for Rural Development, Hon. George Topolnisky Minister without portfolio, responsible for

Northern Development, Hon. J. Allen Adair.